MINUTES COUNCIL ANNUAL MEETING FEBRUARY 6, 2010 COMFORT SUITES, BURLINGTON, IOWA

Executive Board Members in Attendance

Donna Andrews	Greg Humphrey	Steve Morey
Rick Buller	Pat Jackson	Chuck Porter
Butch DeBlieck	Lonnie Kinkeade	Ron Teater
Bob Dickson	Tom Klincar	Stephen Weyer
Bill Ell	John McKillip	Carolyn Weyer
Jack Freiburg	Jim Miller	Dan Wiedemeier
Mike Hausch	Kevin Mineart	Dennis Wilson

Advisory Board Members in Attendance

Al Fabel Jim Ferrell Jim Thompson

Rev. Mark Spring

Chartered Representatives in Attendance

Dona Coultas Lloyd Hubler Becky Morey
J. T. Dozier Fran Jackson Kathy Richmond

MaryAnn Hatfield Gale Lofgren

Council President Patrick Jackson called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. A quorum was declared present.

Action Items:

- ♦ MOTION (by Chuck Porter, seconded by John McKillip) TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THE LAST COUNCIL ANNUAL MEETING ON FEBRUARY 7, 2009 AS WRITTEN. Motion carried.
- ♦ MOTION (by Kevin Mineart, seconded by Bob Dickson) TO ACCEPT THE TREASURER'S REPORT AS PRESENTED. Motion carried.
- ♦ MOTION (by Stephen Weyer, seconded by John McKillip) TO ACCEPT THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT AS PRESENTED, AND TO DECLARE THE OFFICERS AND BOARD MEMBERS DULY ELECTED (report attached). Motion carried.
- ♦ MOTION (by Kevin Mineart, seconded by Ron Teater) TO ESTABLISH AUTHORIZED CHECK SIGNERS AS LISTED. Motion carried.
- ♦ MOTION (by Chuck Porter, seconded by Tom Klincar) TO ESTABLISH AUTHORIZED ACCESS TO THE COUNCIL SAFE DEPOSIT BOX AS LISTED. Motion carried.
- ♦ MOTION (by Dan Wiedemeier, seconded by Bob Dickson) TO AUTHORIZE OUTSOURCING PAYROLL. Motion carried.

Report Items:

/rcv

- ♦ <u>Treasurer's Report</u> (John McKillip): The Council ended the year in a positive position. He briefly reviewed both revenue and expense from the Statement of Operations.
- ♦ Commissioner's Report (Jack Freiburg): Council Commissioner Staff had a great year ending with one of the highest unit-to-commissioner ratios in the country. As one of his last duties as Council Commissioner, Jack introduced Donna Buss as the new Council Commissioner. He has enjoyed his tenure and thanked everyone for serving.
- ♦ Scout Executive's Report (Gary Mertz): We have had a very interesting year retirements of Quentin Karlstrand and Charles Call; merging of two districts, three new James E. West recipients, over 700 attended Boy Scout Summer Camp, two Distinguished Citizen Dinners, a successful Sporting Clays, 112 leaders trained, over 96 commissioners, and 47 Eagle Scouts. Asked all Eagle Scouts in attendance to stand and be recognized. We have lots going on. Without the support of our volunteers, there would be no Council. Without the support of our Chartered Organizations, there would be no units. Recognized Don Lofgren on his retirement. There will be changes in the future. We need to recruit more youth. Challenged everyone to attend church services in uniform tomorrow, on Scout Sunday. Coined a new phrase, "Invest in Scouting; change the world". Recognized current Board Members.
- ♦ State of the Silver Tomahawk Tribe (Jacob Vass): The Tribe of the Silver Tomahawk is an Honor Society based out of Camp Eastman. Helped at Camp Eastman and with Cub Scout programs. Cub Scouts grow up to become Boy Scouts.
- ♦ State of the Black Hawk OA Lodge (Patrick Deeter): Inducted 71 new brothers at two Ordeal Conclaves. Trained new committees at the Fall Lodge Leadership Development (LLD). New Advisor, Chris Meats, took over leadership at the Winter Banquet. Future plans include Brotherhood Conclave, Spring LLD, five Tap-out ceremonies and Section Conclave this fall. Need lots of help for the Section Conclave. First time in five years the Troop Representative program is being utilized.
- Nominating Committee Report (Patrick Jackson): The slate presented includes Members-at-Large, Advisory Council, Executive Board, Officers, National Council Representative, and District Commissioners. The By-laws state that all nominations must be in writing and are due a minimum of 30 days prior to the Council Annual Meeting.

The meeting was declared adjourn	ed at 7:20 p.m.	
Respectfully submitted,		
Gary S. Mertz	Attest:	
Scout Executive		Patrick C. Jackson, Council President